Long lost Surrey punks TRASH are to be celebrated with a full-length vinyl LP for the first time ever.

Formed in Weybridge during the first flurry of punk in the Autumn of '76, Trash were cited by none other than Pete Townshend as "bloody great". Signing to Polydor for two singles - 'Priorities' and the Shel Talmy-produced 'N-N-E-R-V-O-U-S' - they recorded a final session with Police producer Nigel Gray in '79 before grinding to a halt.

Released through Bin Liner Records, Bashing Out The Chords 1976 – 1979 features seven originals, including the singles, plus seven covers of pub-punk favourites like '96 Tears', 'Waiting For the Man' and 'Pills' plus, intriguingly, Roxy Music's 'Editions Of You'.

The package is completed with full sleevenotes including recording and release details, plus rare photos.

Out this Friday, Bashing Out The Chords 1976 – 1979 is available here.

The band's singer Simon Wright is the author of the new book The Making Of The Only Ones.


Back to blog