YORKSHIRE’S BURNING!

Fast-rising Yorkshire rockabilly and roots roustabouts THE BURNER BAND have a new video which they’re premiering with Vive Le Rock!

‘Blues Came In’ is the first single to be taken from the Leeds outfit’s debut album Signs And Wonders, which is due out in September.

Singer/guitarist Lewis Burner has been treading the boards for a while, with the likes of Bob Log III, The Legendary Shack Shakers and at the Strummercamp festival, releasing two solo albums before hooking up with singer and double-bassist Ian.

On Signs And Wonders they mix bluegrass and rock’n’roll with a punk attitude and lyrics that reflect on everything from mental health issues to the dedication shown by the people of Liverpool in eradicating the Sun newspaper from its environs.

“This is a song we wrote together about living dangerously and then getting walloped by the blues,” says Lewis about the video. “We filmed it in the Rodley Social Club because I really like pubs and this is one where I grew up in Leeds. Plus, they let us, so thanks! It would have been much funnier and better had we had more talent available. The telecaster you hear was £250,000 but came with a free house.”

Due out on 3 September through Shed Load Records, Signs And Wonders is available to pre-order and vinyl here and on CD and download here.

The Burner Band head out on a tour this Autumn with fellow Yorkshireman, renowned singer/guitarist/skater Serious Sam Barrett, kicking off with a joint album launch show at Leeds’ Brudenell Social club on 17 September – tickets. Before that they have a handful of dates on their own. Full dates are…

Sun 1 Aug – Deer Shed Festival, Thirsk
Sat 28 Aug – Caroline Club, Shipley (afternoon, Lewis solo)
Sun 29 Aug – Preston *
Fri 3 Sept – Calder Vale Hotel, Horbury*
Sun 5 Sept – Bradford Underground (Lewis solo)
Sat 11 Sept – Armley Festival
Fri 17 Sept – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds (album launch gig)*
Sat 18 Sept – The Swan, Addingham*
Fri 24 Sept – Paradise Tap N Taco, Harrogate*
Sun 26 Sept – The Swinging Arm, Birkenhead*
Fri 1 Oct – Dorothy Pax, Sheffield*
Sat 2 Oct – What’s Cookin’, London*
Sun 3 Oct – Beak Brewery HQ, Lewes*
Fri 8 Oct – Village Hall, Terrington (LIAMS Club)*
Sat 9 Oct – Constitutional Club, Farsley*
Fri 15 Oct – Labour Rooms, Otley*

*with Serious Sam Barrett

The Burner Band on Facebook

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus
pinterest



No Response

Leave us a comment


No comment posted yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.