WIRE are to have their first three classic albums reissued in expanded deluxe form this spring.

Pink Flag, Chairs Missing and 154 – released in 1977, ’78 and ’79 respectively – are the foundation stones on which the band’s reputation is built. Originally issued on EMI’s ‘prog’ label, the albums caused a few raised eyebrows at the time and weren’t huge sellers, but went on to become hugely influential, particularly on U.S. bands like R.E.M, Hüsker Dü, Minutemen, Minor Threat and Spoon.

Reissued through the band’s own Pinkflag label, the albums will be available in ‘book’ format, featuring a wealth of unreleased and rare material. Pink Flag will be expanded over 2 CDs, while Chairs Missing and 154 will cover 3 CDs each.

Set for release on Friday 18 May, the reissues will be launched with a special Q&A/singing session at Rough Trade East, London on Saturday 19 May. Full tracklistings and pre-orders can be had here.

The deluxe reissues will be followed by standard CD and LP editions on 22 June.


As previously announced, the band are to release a special 7″ vinyl box set on Record Store Day, 21 April.

Nine Sevens features the replica editions of the band’s first six singles for Harvest, the rare 4-track EP given away with initial editions of 154, a single previously released on Rough Trade and a single recorded in 1980 but never released on 7″.

The singles will be released digitally after Record Store Day, but will not be compiled onto a singles or greatest hits album.

Wire on Facebook


Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

No Response

Leave us a comment

No comment posted yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.