Dark London garage rockers THEE UNHOLY INNOCENTS have just released their debut single.

‘White Jesus’ is taken from the band’s debut album Shadows Drag, which is due for release in 2018.

The brainchild of Scottish songwriter Neil Robertson, it also features SIGUE SIGUE SPUTNIKguitarist Neal X, bassist Gavin Jay from JIM JONES & THE RIGHTEOUS MIND and drummer John Russell. It was produced by Alex MacGowan of THE FUTURE SHAPE OF SOUND at his Space Eko Studio.

Says Robertson, “‘White Jesus’ was written years ago when Bush was in power but it does seem particularly appropriate for today. People tend to recoil at the title, fearing some kind of racism or prescriptive anti-religion sentiment but that’s bollocks. I’m interested in the individual and inclusiveness and what it means to be a human being, trying to make sense of the misery and hoping for something beautiful beyond the mundane.”

The band promise gigs in the new year in unusual intimate venues.

‘White Jesus’ is available to download now from iTunes, AmazonSpotify and usual platforms.

lawrence pic

Thee Unholy Innocents on Facebook


Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

No Response

Leave us a comment

No comment posted yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.