Iconic ’77 punks THE SNIVELLING SHITS have their solitary album reissued next month.

I Can’t Come was initially compiled in 1988, long after the band had ceased to exist, and was the third release on Damaged Goods Records.

Fronted by music journalist Giovanni Dadomo of Sounds and ZigZag fame, the Shits had a revolving door line-up, including, at one time or another, fellow scribes Pete Makowski and Dave Fudger, producer Steve Lillywhite, CLASH DJ Barry ‘Scratchy’ Myers, HOT RODS drummer Steve Nicol and VIBRATORS guitarist John Ellis.

The band released their sole classic single ‘Terminal Stupid’ c/w ‘I Can’t Come’ on Ghetto Rockers in 1977, before splitting, later resurfacing as ARTHUR COMIX with ‘Isgodaman’ on the compilation Streets, the first ever release on Beggars Banquet Records.

Damaged Goods are now reissuing I Can’t Come with revised artwork, including archive photos by noted photographer Paul Slattery. Along with the aforementioned tracks, this release also includes Dadomo’s recording of ‘Their Ain’t No Sanity Clause’ with THE DAMNED, one of two songs he co-wrote with the band, the other being ‘I Just Can’t Be Happy Today’.

Set for release on 21 July on limited edition white vinyl, CD and download, it’s available to pre-order here.

Check out The Snivelling Shits’ Peel Session from 6 June 1978.


The Snivelling Shits on Facebook



Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

1 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • Mic on

    Little known but Mark Hollis, then of Reaction later Talk Talk also played with them

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.