THE REPLACEMENTS are to have their first ever official live album released in September.

For Sale: Live At Maxwell’s 1986, recorded at the legendary Hoboken NJ venue on 4 February of that year and previously available as a bootleg, will be released on double-CD and double-vinyl. The band’s only previous live album, The Shit Hits The Fans, was released on cassette.

Performed in the wake of the Minneapolis band’s major label debut, Tim, the show would be one of the last to feature the original quartet, prior to the sacking of guitarist Bob Stinson later that year.

While giving prominence to new material from Tim, including ‘Bastards Of Young’, ‘Left Of The Dial’ and ‘Kiss Me On The Bus’, the 29-song set features several ‘Mats classics – including an early rendition of ‘Can’t Hardly Wait’ later to appear on ’87’s Pleased To Meet Me – along with covers of The Beatles’ ‘Nowhere Man’, Vanity Fair’s ‘Hitchin’ A Ride’, Sweet’s ‘Fox On The Run’, T Rex’s ‘Baby Strange’ and ‘Black Diamond’ by Kiss.

Although the tapes of the gig were given a proper mix back in 2007, lingering in the Warners tape archive ever since, the album now gets an official release, accompanied by informative sleeve notes by Bob Mehr, author of the best-selling band biography Trouble Boys: The True Story Of The Replacements.

Full tracklising is….

Disc One
1. ‘Hayday’
2. ‘Color Me Impressed’
3. ‘Dose Of Thunder’
4. ‘Fox On The Run’
5. ‘Hold My Life’
6. ‘I Will Dare’
7. ‘Favorite Thing’
8. ‘Unsatisfied’
9. ‘Can’t Hardly Wait’
10. ‘Tommy Gets His Tonsils Out’
11. ‘Takin’ A Ride’
12. ‘Bastards Of Young’
13. ‘Kiss Me On The Bus’
14. ‘Black Diamond’

Disc Two
1. ‘Johnny’s Gonna Die’
2. ‘Otto’
3. ‘I’m In Trouble’
4. ‘Left Of The Dial’
5. ‘God Damn Job’
6. ‘Answering Machine’
7. ‘Waitress In The Sky’
8. ‘Take Me Down To The Hospital’
9. ‘Gary’s Got A Boner’
10. ‘If Only You Were Lonely’
11. ‘Baby Strange’
12. ‘Hitchin’ A Ride’
13. ‘Nowhere Man’
14. ‘Go’
15. ‘Fuck School’

replacements for sale

The Replacements on Facebook


Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

No Response

Leave us a comment

No comment posted yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.