GANG OF FOUR return with their first new material in three years.

‘Lucky’ is the first song to be revealed from a new EP entitled Complicit, which is set for release on Friday 13 April.

The new track captures producer and founding member Andy Gill advancing his writing partnership with frontman John ‘Gaoler’ Sterry, aided by the production nous of Ben Hillier (Blur, Depeche Mode). Gill’s instantly indentifiable guitar shards and Gaoler’s urgent vocals are underpinned by bassist Thomas McNiece and drummer Tobias Humble’s aggressive and unrelentingly funky groove.

Speaking about ‘Lucky’, Gill says, “This track itself is a product of chance. I’d been watching a serious debate on one of those financial news channels – six white men in suits arguing about the stock markets – and it set me thinking about how limited luck can be. America’s demented ringmaster-clown claims to have bestowed fortune on the markets. He believes himself the master of luck. In reality, they are casinos. A lot of trading is anyway now done by algorithms to try to eliminate the element of chance, but luck isn’t capable of fundamentally changing the system. Even if you believe market crashes are the result of bad luck rather than layer upon layer of human and machine error, the system shudders, restarts and goes on as before.”

Formed in Leeds amid punk’s first flowering in 1977, Gang Of Four unashamedly grabbed the red hot poker of funk, inadvertently writing the rulebook for post-punk with their game-changing debut Entertainment! in ’79. Existing in various forms into the noughties, the departure of original singer Jon King allowed Gill to rebuild the band from the ground up, releasing the acclaimed What Happens Next in 2015.

Gang Of Four on Facebook

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

No Response

Leave us a comment

No comment posted yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.