Much missed West London blues-punks FOLK DEVILS  have their complete recorded works collected on a new compilation due in September.

The release, Beautiful Monsters: Singles and Demo Recordings 1984-86, does what it says on the tin, over the course of 18 newly remastered tracks, available on CD for the very first time. The compilation will also be available on limited edition double 180g vinyl. Set for release on 16 September, it’s available to pre-order now through Optic Nerve Records.

Taking their name from sociologist Stanley Cohen’s iconic book on youth cultures Folk Devils & Moral Panics, the band were formed in 1983 by former THE WALL and SKI PATROL frontman Ian Lowery, together with guitarist Kris Jozajtis, bassist Mark Whiteley and drummer Alan Cole. They burned brightly but briefly, releasing a handful of well-received singles and recording three Peel sessions, and gigging with the likes of THE GUN CLUB, THE FALL and NICK CAVE, before tensions exacerbated by drugs and alcohol caused them to splinter. Lowery went on to form KING BLANK and THE IAN LOWERY GROUP but sadly died in 2001, aged just 45.

Check out the remastered version of ‘English Disease’.


Folk Devils on Facebook


Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

1 Responses

Leave us a comment

  • David Lowery on

    Ian Lowery continued to record until his death in 2001. After the demise of The Ian Lowery Group he formed Edinburgh-based ‘Drug of Choice’ and released the enigmatic ‘Cooler’ album.
    Two albums of his previously unreleased recorded material have recently been released, one of these ‘Ironic’ was reviewed in the February( Issue no. 33),2016 of that excellent magazine – VIVE LE ROCK!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.