FLESH FOR LULU are to have their debut album reissued for the first time in more than 30 years.

The eponymous album was originally released in 1984 through Polydor and featured the classic singles ‘Subterraneans’ and ‘Restless’.

The album forms the backbone of a new double-CD set The Polydor Years. The 34-track compilation also includes all four tracks from the Brixton band’s 1983 debut Roman Candle EP, plus various b-sides, remixes, rarities and BBC sessions for Janice Long, Kid Jensen and John Peel.

Dropped by the label the following year, the band released records on indies Hybrid and Statik, before signing to Beggars Banquet and going on to US college radio success with the single ‘I Go Crazy’ and album Long Live The New Flesh.

Frontman and founder Nick Marsh put together a new line-up of Flesh For Lulu in 2013, as well as being an integral part of THE URBAN VOODOO MACHINE, but sadly succumbed to cancer in 2015.

Check out ‘Restless’ live in ’85.

The Polydor Years is set for release through Caroline International on 1 September. It’s available to pre-order here.


Full tracklisting….

Disc: 1
1. Restless
2. Dog Dog Dog
3. Hyena
4. Coming Down
5. Jigsaw Puzzle
6. Subterraneans
7. Brainburst
8. Peace And Love
9. So Strong
10. Heavy Angel
11. Restless (Kid Jensen Session)
12. Dog Dog Dog (Kid Jensen Session)
13. Lame Train (Kid Jensen Session)
14. Hyena (Kid Jensen Session)
15. Black Tattoo (Janice Long Session)
16. Cat Burglar (Janice Long Session)
17. Peace And Love (Janice Long Session)
18. Endless Sleep (Janice Long Session)

Disc: 2
1. Dancer (John Peel Session)
2. Walk Tired
3. Missionary
4. Spy In Your Mind
5. Roman Candle
6. Coming Down (Original Version)
7. Lame Train
8. The Power Of Suggestion
9. Roman Candle (Extended Mix)
10. Subterraneans (Metro Mix)
11. Why Me?
12. Gurl At The Bar
13. Endless Sleep
14. Ten Foot Tall
15. Cat Burglar
16. Cat Burglar (12″ Version)

Flesh For Lulu on Facebook

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

No Response

Leave us a comment

No comment posted yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.