Minnesota punk legends HÜSKER DÜ are to be celebrated with a new box set this autumn.

Released by US archive label The Numero Group, also responsible for last year’s spectacular SCIENTISTS box set, Savage Young Dü chronicles the St Paul trio’s early years from 1979 to ’83 across four LPs or 3 CDs.

Sourced from original analogue demos, board tapes, and session masters, the collection comprises 69 tracks, 47 of them previously unreleased. Included are historic documents of the band’s earliest shows, first singles ‘Statues’ c/w ‘Amusement’ and ‘In A Free Land’, as well as 1983’s full-length debut studio album Everything Falls Apart and an alternate version of 1982’s seminal live recording Land Speed Record, all newly remastered.

The recordings are accompanied by a hardback book including a band history created with full participation from Grant Hart, Greg Norton, and Bob Mould, plus numerous never-before seen photos, a collection of rare flyers and a detailed sessionography.

Limited editions will also be accompanied by a 7″ EP Extra Circus, featuring 5 previously unissued tracks from the sessions for the classic 1983 SST mini-album Metal Circus.

Set for release on 10 November, Savage Young Dü is available to pre-order here.  You can stream it here now.


Hüsker Dü on Facebook

Pic by Steve Hengstler

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

No Response

Leave us a comment

No comment posted yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.