Norwegian post-punks PERMAFROST kick off their 40th Anniversary year with a brand new single.

'Come Back To Surprise' follows on from a year of uncharacteristic activity from the notoriously laid-back band, which saw the release of three digital singles throughout 2021.

“'Come Back To Surprise' initially sets a tone of coldness and loneliness, which is resolved by a story of beauty and shelter,” they say.

Formed in 1982 by schoolfriends Frode Heggdal Larsen and Kåre Steinsbu and taking their name from the Magazine song and influence from Joy Division, Wire and Pere Ubu, they released the cassette-only album Godtment a year later. Joined by bassist Robert Heggdal and drummer Trond Tornes in 2001 and longtime Cure and Depeche Mode confidant Daryl Bamonte on keyboards in 2016, they entered the vinyl market in 2019 with the three-track Permafrost EP.

'Come Back To Surprise' is available now from Spotify, Apple and all the usual platforms.

Permafrost on Facebook

Back to blog