US punk rock supergroup FAKE NAMES are back with a new 3-track EP.

The band, who feature Brian Baker (Minor Threat, Dag Nasty, Bad Religion), Michael Hampton (S.O.A., Embrace, One Last Wish), Dennis Lyxzén (Refused, International Noise Conspiracy, INVSN), and Johnny Temple (Girls Against Boys, Soulside), emerged last year with a rapturously received self-titled debut album.

Since then, they haven't come up with with much in the way of a convincing new title for the project - in the words of Joe Perry, they're letting the music do the talking. Rather than go the whole hog though, they've decided to opt for the leaner, meaner EP format - Short. Sharp. Solid.

“I love the EP format,” explains guitarist/vocalist Baker. “So many of my favourite bands growing up (Damned, Clash, Black Flag to name a few) issued EPs between albums, and they were always special to me. They came in all shapes and sizes, and they were comprised of songs that were available nowhere else. Sometimes these records teased the style and sonics of a bands’ forthcoming full length, sometimes they were complete departures that sounded like different bands entirely! In all cases they were records that made me feel closer to the bands, giving me a window into what was coming next or what they did when no one was looking. The ‘Fake Names EP’ was recorded in this spirit.“

“Growing up as a restless soul and outsider few things defined and saved me as much as music did," adds Lyxzén. "Specifically, punk and hardcore. It explained alienation and my constant need to go against the herd and to break free from expectations and paths not chosen by myself. The inherent paradox of my life is of course my innate love for all things punk and my constant need to move and grow and change and try new things. Something that punk not always embodies.”

Check out the lead track 'It Will Take A Lifetime'...


The Fake Names EP is available to stream/download here.

Fake Names on Facebook

Pic by Glen E. Friedman

Back to blog