PENNYWISE frontman JIM LINDBERG has revealed another track from his forthcoming debut solo album.

A departure from his regular Pennywise style, the country-flavoured 'You're Not Alone' follows on from the track 'The Palm Of Your Hand' unveiled last month. Both tracks feature on the rustically-titled Songs From The Elkhorn Trail which is out through Epitaph on 6 May next year.

"It’s about all the people who are for one reason or another, forced to be lonely in the world, the castaways, the unloved, the unwanted,” says Lindberg of the track. “There comes a point for a lot of people when you’re existing in an untenable situation where you just have to say, ‘This isn’t an acceptable way for me to live anymore.’ When this happens, there isn’t a need for a lot of fanfare. You just ‘get your stuff and you walk out.’ The moment where you make the decision to leave, it can be sad and painful but also extremely liberating to finally get your freedom. When you’ve taken that last insult or soul damaging put-down, it can be very satisfying to just ‘smile and wave as you walk past.’ You may be lonely for a while, but the song is about reminding you that there are always millions of other people in your situation - You're Not Alone - and your bond and friendship with them is that you've escaped. You’re never alone in feeling alone. You’ve got friends everywhere.”

Written over the past 25 years, Songs From The Elkhorn Trail is a highly personal release, finding Lindberg reflecting on his life and the various relationships, good and bad, within it. The album was largely inspired by his father, who supported Lindberg throughout his life, including buying his first guitar, before passing away with Alzheimer's in 2018.

Recorded with members of Social Distortion, Dropkick Murphys and The Mighty Mighty Bosstones, the album was produced Tedd Hutt (Gaslight Anthem, Lucero, Dropkick Murphys, etc).

Stream 'You're Not Alone' here.

Jim Lindberg on Facebook

Pic by Brent Broza

Back to blog