RON S PENO, former frontman with Aussie legends DIED PRETTY, has announced a new album with his latest band THE SUPERSTITIONS.

Do The Understanding is the band's fourth album, and is in prestigious company, two of its predecessors having previous been longlisted for the Australian Music Prize.

The new album follows on from the band's 2017 release Guiding Light and comes after an enforced lay-off brought about by thankfully successful treatment for oesophageal cancer followed by the Covid pandemic. Looking on the bright side, Peno was able to return to the stage earlier this year for shows with the reunited Died Pretty.

A veteran of such seminal bands as the Frozen Stiffs, Hellcats and The 31st, Peno was a fleeting founder member of legendary Brisbane band the Screaming Tribesmen, before throwing in his lot in '83 with Died Pretty, recording one of THE greatest Australian debut albums of all time in Free Dirt, before going overground with a series of mainstream-chart-bothering albums during the 90s. Peno has gone on to work on various other projects, including three albums with the duo The Darling Downs alongside Kim Salmon of The Scientists.

Formed in 2009, The Superstitions see Peno joined by guitarist Cam Butler, drummer Mark Dawson, keyboard-player Tim Deane and bassist Andy Papadopoulos.

Set for release on 26 July, Do The Understanding is available to pre-order on CD, vinyl and download from Bandcamp, with immediate access to two tracks 'The Strangest Feeling' and 'Everything Has Changed'.

The Scientists are featured and reviewed in the latest edition of Vive Le Rock!

Ron S Peno and The Superstitions on Facebook

Back to blog