WALTER LURE IN VLR-and UK TOUR!The Heartbreakers' Walter Lure kicks off UK tour at Rebellion Festiva

 HEARTBREAKERS legend Walter Lure hits the UK soon. Full details below. And read an exclusive interview with him in the next issue of Vive Le Rock, out Aug 15th!

The Heartbreakers' Walter Lure kicks off UK tour at Rebellion Festival on August 8th, & Jungle Records reveal full tracklisting for extended edition of The Waldos' much sought after 'Rent Party', reissue out August 12th

Walter Lure will be on his way back to the UK in just two weeks time.  The original guitarist and co-vocalist with Johnny Thunders’ iconic New York punks The Heartbreakers kicks off a three day live run with an appearance at Blackpool’s Rebellion Festival on August 8th, and then heads to Bristol and London.
This will be Walter’s third road trip with British bandmates ’Rockin’ Ray Birch and Ozzie (bass/drums, both of Gunfire Dance), and Jez Miller (guitar, Lords of the New Church / The Men That Will Not Be Blamed For Nothing), who joined him on two successful UK tours in 2010 and 2011.  On their first outing, the quartet played a sold-out show at London’s legendary 100 Club, ending the night with an incendiary encore featuring original Sex Pistol Glen Matlock. Public demand then prompted them to return a year later, when a capacity crowd at Camden’s Purple Turtle saw Walter reunite with Heartbreakers’ bassist Billy Rath.
Though not revealing the identities of special guests for 2013 as yet, Walter did offer a few clues as to what’s in store at this summer’s dates when he was interviewed in the current issue of Classic Rock magazine.  He told Kris Needs, “we’re going to resurrect a few [songs], like ‘Baby Talk’, and I might do Johnny’s ‘Just Because I’m White’”, and also discussed how colleagues on Wall Street regard his recent return to rock ’n’ roll.  
Catch the show for yourself at;
Thurs 8th August - BLACKPOOL, Winter Gardens (Rebellion Festival -
Fri 9th August - BRISTOL, Exchange (w/Healthy Junkies). Doors 7pm / £12 adv
Sat 10th August - LONDON, The Underworld (w/The Parkinsons, Electric River & The Terraces)  Doors 6pm / £15 adv.
To coincide with the tour, Jungle Records will be reissuing the 1994 debut from Walter’s post-Heartbreakers group, The Waldos.  Titled ’Rent Party’ (after the reunions The Heartbreakers staged to raise cash in the 80s), the album has become highly sought after, due to being unavailable on CD for many years.  The Jungle reissue is released on August 12th, and includes four bonus tracks from two rare seven inches; The Waldos’ ‘Crazy Little Baby / Cry Baby‘, and The Blessed’s ‘Deep Frenzy / American Bandstand’.  The latter single was originally released by D-Generation co-founder Howie Pyro and his first band in 1979, and features Walter as a special guest.  The full track listing for ’Rent Party’ is as follows;  
1.  CRY BABY  (Tony Coiro)
2.  LOVE THAT KILLS  (Walter Lure)
3.  SORRY  (Walter Lure)
4.  SEVEN DAY WEEKEND  (Pomus/Schuman)
5.  NEVER GET AWAY  (Walter Lure)
6.  GOLDEN DAYS  (Walter Lure)
7.  FLIGHT  (Walter Lure)
8.  COUNTDOWN LOVE  (Jerry Nolan)
9.  BUSTED  (Howard)
10.  CRAZY LITTLE BABY  (Walter Lure)
11.  CRAZY BOUT YOUR LOVE  (Tony Coiro)
12.  PARTY LIGHTS  (Claudine Clark)
bonus 7” single tracks
13.  CRAZY LITTLE BABY  (Walter Lure)
14.  CRY BABY  (Tony Coiro)
The Blessed
15.  DEEP FRENZY  (Lure/Stark/Petti)
WALTER LURE: Guitar, Vocals
TONY COIRO: Bass, Vocals
JEFF WEST: Drum Set & Cymbals
Bonus 7”: -
+ CHARLIE SOX: Drums, backing vocals
THE BLESSED w/ Walter Lure

Back to blog