French alt-rockers VANILLA BLUE make a quick return with their second album, just a year on from their debut.

The supergroup, taking their name from a Naked Raygun song and comprising veterans from the Saint Etienne punk circuit, came together in 2019, releasing their debut full-length Dark Cities to considerable praise earlier this year.

For the new album Sweetheart, the band have been joined by a new drummer, Franck 'Coach' Berger (Switch Stance, Painful Places), leaving Junior free to return to guitar, his role in the also excellent Zero Gain. The line-up is completed by Dan (vocals), Olivier (guitar) and Max (bass).

Among the album's fourteen songs, it features one track, 'Panic', with lyrics and vocals by Jerry A from Poison Idea. Meanwhile, the band have just dropped a first video from the album, 'Pagan Crap'...


Sweetheart is due for release on 31 January though Twenty Something and Dangerhouse Skylab. Vinyl editions will include a free ten-track live CD.

Vanilla Blue on Facebook



Back to blog