Edsel Records are to issue two very special UK SUBS box sets.

The band were founde in South West London in 1976 by frontman Charlie Harper, recipient of the King Rocker award at the inaugural Vive Le Rock Awards and who just turned 74. Early on in their career the band set out to release an album for each letter of the alphabet, finally completing the task in 2017.  

The Albums Volume 1 features the first 13 albums (A – M), plus two discs of non-album singles, b-sides and rare compilation tracks comprising 279 tracks in total.  Covering a period when the band were at the peak of their commercial success, racking up no fewer than 7 Top Of The Pops appearances, four of the albums -  Another Kind Of Blues, Brand New Age, Crash Course and Diminished Responsibility - all made the upper reaches of the UK album chart. Engendered Species, meanwhile, includes the song 'Down On The Farm', which was famously covered by Guns‘n’Roses on their Spaghetti Incident album.

Discs 14 and 15 in the set contain 58 non-LP cuts, including UK hit singles 'Stranglehold', 'Tomorrows Girls', 'She’s Not There', 'Warhead', 'Teenage', 'Party In Paris' and 'Keep On Runnin’', plus the Independent Chart hits 'Countdown', 'Shake Up The City' and 'Another Typical City'.

 The Albums Volume 2 features the second half of the A-Z series (N – Z) and, as with Volume 1, it also comes with two discs of non-album singles, b-sides and rare compilation album tracks, totalling 261 tracks.

Volume 1 is set for release on 1 June, while Volume 2 will follow on 3 August.

UK Subs on Facebook
Back to blog