Tina Weymouth and Chris Frantz, founding members of Talking Heads, return with their first material in a decade with the Downtown Rockers ep, with a title track that pays tribute to the thrilling downtown New York music scene of the 70's and the bands that made their names there.

The video features cameos from two such luminaries in Debbie Harry and Richard Hell and is directed by Jim Swaffield.

Chris Frantz; "We recorded the basic tracks soon after we toured with the Psychedelic Furs in October of 2011 at our home studio. These tracks were built from improvised jam sessions with Bruce Martin on keyboards and Pablo Martin on guitar, Tina Weymouth on bass and myself on drums. This is the same way we began "Remain In Light" with Talking Heads. This time our only instruction to the other players was to keep the parts simple with lots of space, like Booker T. and the MGs would do. There are some beautiful young kids running around Brooklyn in band shirts from the golden age of CBGBs and Max's, a period that it seems is just as important today as it was back then."

Chris Frantz and Tina Weymout entered the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2002. Their hit 'Genius Of Love' (1981) has been covered and remixed by dozens of musicians like Grandmaster Flash, Mariah Carey, Tupac Shakur to most recently, T.I. feat. Fergie and Will.I.Am.


1. Downtown Rockers

2. Won't Give You Up

3. You Make Me Rock and Roll

4. Kissin' Antonio

5. Sweets to the Sweet

6. Downtown Rockers (Ed Stasium E-Dub Mix)

7. Downtown Rockers (Arthur Baker Superstar DJ Mix)

8. Kissin' Antonio (Entro & Ginseng Short Mix)

9. Kissin' Antonio (DJ Latin Bitman Mix)

Back to blog