FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  Full Length Debut Titled, Back In The USSA, By Cleveland Garage Rock Band, Prisoners, Out Now On Smog Veil Records  Chicago, IL, July 20, 2010 ­ Smog Veil Records announces the new full-length album by Cleveland garage rock band Prisoners titled, Back In The USSA (out now). The record was pressed on multi-colored wax, with eco-friendly recycled content jacket and full color two-sided insert.  The LP includes a free download code for the entire album.  This collectable release is strictly limited to a single pressing of 500 pieces.  The album was recorded, mixed and engineered by Mike McDonald in September 2009 at the Cool Ranch in Cleveland, OH. ³It's really a hodgepodge" frontman Jason Look states about the album. "There's everything on there from an acoustic song and straight-up '60s revival to some '50s doo-wop stuff, too" he enthuses. "We try to mix it up and don't really try to go for any one thing."  Prisoners is a five-piece band, influenced by the Rolling Stones, The Replacements, Bob Dylan, and Neil Young.  Their loud, three-guitar line-up and raucous live performances distinguish them from other rock acts in the Cleveland area. They've played together for a year now and have shared the stage with Bill Fox, Dead Meadow, Sweet Apple and the Strange Boys, amongst others.  The band has been well received by press with coverage in the Cleveland Plain Dealer and the Cleveland Scene who wrote "ŠBack in the USSA <>  is a promising start from these young, brash Prisoners." CitzienDick adds "Equal parts frivolity, wickedness, and bravado, they immediately snag an audience's attention <>  with amazing stage command."  And IRockCleveland <>  sums it up enthusing "...this young band have quickly mastered that old Cleveland sound."  Prisoners is Jason Look on guitar and vocals; James Piscura on guitar and vocals; Ron Urch on guitar; Drew Ritchey on bass; Adam Gravatt on drums. The ten tracks on Back In The USSA are: 1. "Evangeline," 2. "You¹re Goin¹ Down," 3. "Society¹s Bitch," 4. "Join The Club," 5. "Eternal Flowers," 6. "Teenage Shatner," 7. "Little Old Me," 8. "Tied Up In Shadows," 9. "Losers" and 10. "Back In The USSA." Visit the band online at <> .  Smog Veil Records was founded in Cleveland, Ohio in 1991.  The label is distributed by Revolver, CTD, Sonic Unyon, Forced Exposure, Get Hip, IODA and Code 7/Plastic Head. The label roster includes Batusis (featuring Cheetah Chrome and Sylvain Sylvain), Pere Ubu, Complaints Choir, Peter Laughner, Tin Huey, Easter Monkeys, Pistol Whip, Unknown Instructors, The Pagans, Teacher¹s Pet, Thor, Rocket From The Tombs, Amps II Eleven, New Christs (featuring Rob Younger of Radio Birdman) and Rubber City Rebels. Visit the label online at <> .  
Back to blog