ORANGE JUICE 'Coals To Newcastle' the definitive seven disc box set to be released on November 8th 2010  Domino are very honoured to announce the upcoming release of a   comprehensive seven-disc anthology of one of the finest groups of all   time, Orange Juice. Coals To Newcastle will be released on November   8th in the UK and Europe and the following day in North America.  The release will comprise of six audio compact discs and one DVD that   will contain the band’s complete discography and other studio   recordings as well as a collection of their BBC sessions. The DVD   will contain the band’s two promotional clips for “Rip It Up”   and “What Presence?!” (the latter directed by Derek Jarman), their   four performances on The Old Grey Whistle Test and the rare   posthumous concert video Dada With (The) Juice. In total, Coals To   Newcastle contains 16 previously unreleased tracks with another 23   tracks previously unavailable digitally on earlier re-issues.  In six tumultuous years, Orange Juice, led by Edwyn Collins, blazed a   trail of self-reliance with the legendary Postcard label, ran in   conjunction with then-manager Alan Horne, and greatly expanded the   palette of independent music at the start of the ‘80s with their   brand of literate pop songwriting that both pre-saged the coming of   The Smiths and kickstarted a renaissance in Scottish pop music that   continues to this day.  After an embryonic start as the punk-influenced Nu-Sonics, Orange   Juice came into being in 1979 as unfashionable pre-Year Zero punk   influences such as The Byrds, Chic, Motown and The Velvet Underground   began to make their presence known in the band’s developing sound.   Over the next year, the group recorded four landmark 7” singles on   Postcard (as well as putting out early releases from Aztec Camera,   The Go-Betweens and Josef K). Though each single proved more   successful than its predecessor, greater commercial aspirations led   the band to sign to Polydor in the midst of making their first album   in a prescient deal in which the band retained ownership of their   material.  The original lineup abruptly fell apart shortly after the release of   the debut album, You Can’t Hide Your Love Forever, and, as quickly,   the band’s future was decidedly unassured. However, with the   addition of Malcolm Ross, formerly of Postcard labelmates Josef K,   and Zimbabwe-by-way-of-Glasgow drummer Zeke Manyika, the group   proceeded to make their commercial mark with the timeless funk and   soul-inflected Rip It Up, whose title track was to be the group’s   biggest UK hit, peaking at #8 in February of 1983.  During the recording of a follow-up, the group had decided to head in   a more rock direction, but creative tensions arose again and the   group fell apart during the recording sessions from which the Texas   Fever mini-LP was culled. With Polydor’s support of the group   withdrawing, Collins, joined in the studio by Manyika, persevered to   make the bittersweet swan song album, The Orange Juice, a collection   that telegraphed the group’s impending demise amidst some of their   finest recordings. Collins made it official in March of 1985   announcing mid-performance at a miner’s benefit at the Brixton   Academy that it would be Orange Juice’s last performance.  For a complete tracklist, please visit the following:: UK pre-order release page:  20-08-10/coals-to-newcastle-boxset/ US pre-order release page:  19-08-10/coals-to-newcastle-boxset/  The video for “Rip It Up” is on our Youtube channel - http:// 
Back to blog