New studio album “Years of Refusal” released 16th February 2009 on Polydor
Preceded by single “I’m Throwing My Arms Around Paris” on 9th February
Exclusive Radio 2 live performance on 11th February
Sold out UK tour in May
Morrissey’s new studio album “Years of Refusal” will be released on 16th February 2009 on Polydor, preceded by the single “I’m Throwing My Arms Around Paris” one week prior. 
The Deluxe edition of the album will feature a DVD with exclusive content including “Wrestle with Russell”, a revealing 20 minute filmed interview with Russell Brand recorded at the comedian’s home in LA in November ’08.  The friends talk candidly about music, lyrics, image, fame and hair in a piece that is both serious and highly entertaining. Morrissey’s performances of “That’s How People Grow Up” from Friday Night with Jonathan Ross and “All You Need Is Me” from Later With Jools Holland will also feature, as will the video promo for the single “All You Need Is Me”.  iTunes have an exclusive digital booklet for those who purchase the standard album version via their site.
“Years of Refusal” was completed in 2008 at Conway Studios in LA with the late Jerry Finn, producer of Morrissey’s acclaimed 2004 UK No.2 album “You Are The Quarry”.  Morrissey describes the new album, the follow up to 2006’s “Ringleader of The Tormentors” (a UK No.1), as his strongest work to date. The 12-track album includes a clutch of new songs played live in recent months including “I’m Throwing My Arms Around Paris”, “Something Is Squeezing My Skull”, “Mama Lay Softly On The Riverbed” and “One Day Goodbye Will Be Farewell”.  Long time band members Boz Boorer, Jesse Tobias, Matt Walker, and Solomon Walker play on the album, which also features a contribution from Jeff Beck on the track “Black Cloud”.

Back to blog