re-release cult film after 32 years 
‘Take It Or Leave It’ 
Released 7th October
Madness have today announced plans to re-release their 1981 silver screen debut, the autobiographical ‘Take It Or Leave It’, thirty-two years after its initial release. Released on October 7th the package will include a DVD of the film and an audio CD of the soundtrack, which has never previously been officially released. 
Directed and produced by Dave Robinson, head of Madness’ original label Stiff Records, 'Take It Or Leave It' provides a down-to-earth narrative of the trials and tribulations of the early career of one of Britain’s most iconic bands. With the backdrop of Camden Town, the film depicts the cult band’s epic rise from their humble start as a pub band to their first glimpse of fame. 
The film illustrates the gritty reality of the turbulent music industry of the 1980s in comparison to the glamorous perception of the industry today. ‘Take It Or Leave It’ features live and studio recordings of hits from Madness’s first three albums including ‘The Prince’, ‘One Step Beyond’ and ‘Baggy Trousers’. 
The accompanying CD soundtrack album provides an interesting perspective on the band’s early work and features 26 songs including singles, b-sides and album tracks. Two of the songs aren’t by Madness: Fats Domino’s ‘I’m Walkin’ and The Four Tops’ ‘Reach Out I’ll Be There’, both of which can be heard in the film.
Take It Or Leave It - full soundtrack list:
  1. Don’t Quote Me On That
  2. The Business
  3. I’m Walkin’ (Fats Domino)
  4. On The Beat Pete
  5. Don’t Look Back
  6. Reach Out I’ll Be There (The Four Tops)
  7. Embarrassment
  8. Mistakes
  9. That’s The Way To Do It
  10. Rocking In Ab 
  11. Day On The Town
  12. Swan Lake
  13. In The Middle Of The Night
  14. Razor Blade Alley
  15. Madness
  16. Steppin’ Into Line
  17. Night Boat To Cairo
  18. Sign Of The Times
  19. Solid Gone
  20. One Step Beyond...
  21. Bed & Breakfast Man
  22. The Prince
  23. Baggy Trousers
  24. Grey Day
  25. My Girl
  26. Take It or Leave It
2013 is proving to be an incredible year for the band, highlighting that their success is as strong now as it was thirty-two years ago! The band have played a number of shows over the summer and are gearing up for their biggest headline show of the year at London’s Alexandra Palace on September 28th. The legendary House Of Fun Weekender has also been confirmed for November 22nd-25th.  
Madness released a Special Edition of their tenth studio album ‘Oui, Oui, Si, Si, Ja, Ja, Da, Da’ earlier this year. The repacked album is full of bonus content, new tracks, a live DVD and legendary artist Sir Peter Blake dressed as Moses on the cover! For more info please click here

Back to blog