THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH are to have their classic debut album reissued this Summer in expanded form.
The eponymously-titled The Lords Of The New Church was originally released through manager Miles Copeland's Illegal Records in 1982.
The band was the first genuine supergroup to emerge from the punk-era, featuring Brian James from THE DAMNED, Stiv Bators from THE DEAD BOYS, Dave Tregunna from SHAM 69 and Nicky Turner from THE BARRACUDAS. Bators and Tregunna had previously united in the short-lived THE WANDERERS.
The album was an immediate success, reaching No.3 on the UK Indie Chart, with the single 'Open Your Eyes' reaching the Top 30 of the US Modern Rock chart. Switching the the major-distributed I.R.S label, the band would release two more successful albums - Is Nothing Sacred? and The Method To Our Madness - before splitting in 1989.
The double-disc The Lords Of The New Church - Special Edition sees the original 10-track album boosted by the inclusion of 'Girls Girls Girls' and 'Young Don't Cry', the original B-sides of the 'Open Your Eyes' and 'Russian Roulette' singles. The second disc features a 13-track live set from '82 from the legendary Long Island club, My Father's Place.
The album is set for release on 20 July through Blixa Sounds Records.
Check out the video for 'Open Your Eyes'.
Back to blog