HAWKWIND have announced a new album for their 50th Anniversary year.

All Aboard The Skylark will be the Ladbroke Grove spacerock pioneers' 32nd album and continues a trajectory of prolific activity from the band, following on from 2016's The Machine Stops, 2017's Into The Woods and last year's orchestral Mike Batt-produced The Road To Utopia.

The album is the band's first release to feature the four-piece line-up of band founder Dave Brock, drummer Richard Chadwick, guitarist Magnus Martin and bassist and keyboard-player Niall Hone.

Packaged in a space-travel-themed sleeve echoing the band's 1974 classic Hall Of The Mountain Grill, the new album features a bonus disc Acoustic Daze, featuring unplugged renditions of eleven 'wind evergreens, including 'PSI Power', 'The Watcher', 'Down Through The Night' and 'We Took The Wrong Step Years Ago'.

As previously announced, the band head out on their 50th Anniversary tour in November, culminating in a show a London's prestigious Royal Albert Hall. Full dates are...

Sunday November 10 – Theatre Royal, Brighton
Monday November 11 – Grand Opera House, York
Tuesday November 12 – Corn Exchange, Ipswich
Wednesday November 13 – The Anvil, Basingstoke
Friday November 15 – Albert Hall, Manchester
Saturday November 16 – The Queens Hall, Edinburgh
Sunday November 17 – O2 Academy, Glasgow
Monday November 18 – Corn Exchange, Cambridge
Tuesday November 19 – Anson Rooms, Bristol
Wednesday November 20 – Tramshed, Cardiff
Friday November 22 – Rock City, Nottingham
Saturday November 23 – Town Hall, Birmingham
Sunday November 24 – Empire, Coventry
Monday November 25 - G Live, Guildford
Tuesday November 26 – Royal Albert Hall, London

Set for release on 25 October through Cherry Red, All Aboard The Skylark is available for pre-order here.

Hawkwind on Facebook

Back to blog