Joy Division


Released Rhino Records UK December 6th 2010

Rhino Records UK / Warner Music are proud to announce the release of '+ -" (plus minus) - a unique JOY DIVISION retrospective box set consisting of 10 7" singles on vinyl presented in a beautiful clamshell box. All tracks have been newly re-mastered from original tapes by Stephen Morris and Frank Arkwright (Metropolis Studios) with design for '+ -" box set artwork coming from Peter Saville and Studio Parris Wakefield.

Compiled by renowned journalist and author Jon Savage, the boxset is released in celebration of Ian Curtis - in the year that is the 30th anniversary of his death. +- includes 7"’ which have previously been issued and some which have been created specifically for this release. Although they released two albums in two years - "Unknown Pleasures" (1979) and "Closer" (1980), JOY DIVISION recorded many other tracks throughout their career that were released on stand-alone singles - most notably 'Transmission" and 'Love Will Tear Us Apart". +- brings these singles, and more, together in one place.  Anyone purchasing the physical box will have the opportunity to download (for free) all the tracks in high quality mp3 format.

As a co-founder of the legendary independent label FACTORY RECORDS Peter Saville and Studio Parris Wakefield leant their eyes to the project providing stunning outer packaging and suggesting the concept for the sleeves. Each cover is based upon its original and - as a snapshot of a band and a time - serves to remind the owner of the unique position Joy Division hold in British musical history

To accompany the physical release, Rhino Records UK will also release a deluxe digital iTunes LP version featuring in addition to the full re-mastered audio, exclusively commissioned sleeve notes, written by Jon Savage, and interview footage recorded during the re-mastering sessions.  As well as promo videos and a classic performance of Transmission from the Something Else show, fans will be thrilled to see a PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED live performance of Colony from the legendary 1979 Apollo show.  All of this audio visual content has been packaged up within a unique iTunes LP experience designed by Studio Parris Wakefield complete with full artwork, lyrics and more.

Limited to 5000, numbers 1-500 of the physical boxset will be available as a deluxe version exclusively from and will include a custom Peter Saville art piece only available in the box.

Back to blog