HUGH CORNWELL has unveiled the track listing for his forthcoming studio album TOTEM AND TABOO which is released in the UK on MONDAY 10TH SEPTEMBER through Cadiz Music. Recorded at Electrical Audio Studios, Chicago, the new album was engineered and mixed by STEVE ALBINI (Nirvana, PJ Harvey, Pixies).

Track Listing:
1. Totem And Taboo
2. The Face
3. I Want One Of Those
4. Stuck In Daily Mail Land
5. Bad Vibrations
6. God Is Woman
7. Love Me Slender
8. Gods, Guns And Gays
9. A Street Names Carroll
10. In The Dead of The Night
“This was the last song I wrote for the album,” says Cornwell about the title track Totem And Taboo. “It’s become one of my favourites. A hint of Rebel Rebel with some Marc Bolan glam thrown in. I’ve always liked songs with marching 4’s on the snare, and that’s what it is supposed to be, a rallying call for like-minded souls.”
Cornwell was the original guitarist, singer, and main songwriter of the British punk rock band The Stranglers. He’s enjoyed massive UK and European success with 10 hit albums and 21 Top Forty hit singles including Peaches, No More Heroes, Golden Brown, Always the Sun, (Get A) Grip (On Yourself), Nice N Sleazy, Duchess and No Mercy.
A nationwide October UK tour will see Cornwell perform the Totem And Taboo album in its entirety, followed by The Stranglers’ seminal 1977 album No More Heroes performed in its entirety. Tickets: 0844 478 0898. Book Online: VIP packages:
Back to blog