MICHAEL MONROE has announced a one-off reformation of the original line-up of HANOI ROCKS.

The legendary Finnish rockers - featuring Monroe alongside guitarists Andy McCoy and Nasty Suicide, bassist Sami Yaffa and drummer Gyp Casino - will play a short set as a grand finale to Monroe's 60th birthday concert at Helsinki Ice Hall on 23 September. It will be the first time the original five have played onstage together in more than 40 years.

Monroe and his Hanoi bandmates announced the reformation at a special press conference in Helsinki this morning.

"This is the only appropriate time and place for all five original members of Hanoi Rocks to get on stage to play together after a break of over forty years," says Monroe. "This is not a Hanoi Rocks re-union, but a unique part of the anniversary concert. At first I planned to keep it a surprise but after giving it some more thought, I realised that it wouldn't be fair, especially to the fans, not to make this public in advance and that everybody should have the chance to be there."

Hanoi Rocks were formed by Monroe and McCoy in 1979, recording two albums - Bangkok Shocks, Saigon Shakes, Hanoi Rocks and Oriental Beat, plus the singles compilation Self-Destruction Blues before Casino departed to be replaced by English drummer Razzle. The band split in early '85 following the death of Razzle in a car accident the previous December.

Since then, Monroe has enjoyed a successful solo career, as well as briefly reuniting with Yaffa and Suicide in the band DEMOLITION 23, alongside, who will also making an appearance on the 23rd. This will be the band's first performance since their initial break-up in '95.

At the almost 3-hour 60th Anniversary show, Monroe will be mainly fronting his current band featuring Yaffa, Steve Conte, Rich Jones and Karl Rockfist, with other guest musicians from his career taking the stage during the evening. Tickets are on sale here.

Michael Monroe's latest album I Live Too Fast To Die Young is out now through Silver Lining Records.

2022 Pic by Ville Juurikkala

1982 Pic by Pekka Soini

Back to blog