They may have ended up a bit embarrassing but Ultravox were right at the heart of the punk explosion A new cd /dvd charts their history....


The Very Best Of
Special Edition 2 disc CD/DVD
Release date: 6th April 2009
EMI Marketing
Catalogue number: CHRTV20091

Chrysalis Records will release The Very Best Of Ultravox on 6th April as a Special Edition 2 disc CD/DVD package. Collating 18 tracks with 17 videos, this is the first time everything has been available together and is released to coincide with the bands forthcoming UK tour.

Reunited to play live for the first time in over 20 years, the band line up will feature the original 80s Ultravox incarnation of Midge Ure, Chris Cross, Warren Cann and Billy Currie. One of the primary exponents of British electronic pop in the early 1980s, fans can look forward to hearing all of the band’s hits live including Vienna, The Voice, Dancing With Tears In My Eyes– all of which are included here on this limited Special Edition 2 disc set.

CD tracklist:

1. Sleepwalk (2008 Digital Remaster)
2. Passing Strangers (2008 Digital Remaster)
3. Vienna (Single Version) (2009 Digital Remaster)
4. All Stood Still (Album Version) (2008 Digital Remaster)
5. The Thin Wall (Single Version) (2009 Digital Remaster)
6. The Voice (Single Version) (2009 Digital Remaster)
7. Reap The Wild Wind (2009 Digital Remaster)
8. Hymn (Single Version) (2009 Digital Remaster)
9. Visions In Blue (Single Version) (2009 Digital Remaster)
10. We Came To Dance (Single Version) (2009 Digital Remaster)
11. One Small Day (Single Version) (2009 Digital Remaster)
12. Dancing With Tears In My Eyes (Single Version) (2009 Digital Remaster)
13. Lament (Single Version) (2009 Digital Remaster)
14. White China (2009 Digital Remaster)
15. Loves Great Adventure (2009 Digital Remaster)
16. Same Old Story (Single Mix) (2009 Digital Remaster)
17. All Fall Down (2009 Digital Remaster)
18. All In One Day (Single Version) (2009 Digital Remaster)

DVD tracklist:

1. Sleepwalk (Live - St Albans 8/80)
2. Vienna (Live - St Albans 8/80)
3. Passing Strangers
4. Vienna (uncut)
5. All Stood Still (Top Of The Pops, June 11th, 1981)
6. The Thin Wall
7. The Voice
8. Reap The Wild Wind
9. Hymn
10.Visions In Blue (uncensored)
11.We Came To Dance
12.One Small Day
13.Dancing With Tears In My Eyes
15.Love's Great Adventure
16.Same Old Story
17.All Fall Down

As lead singer Midge Ure explains,

“Over the years we have all been caught up with a number of individual projects. When Billy and me were approached by Absolute Radio to perform an acoustic set at their inaugural launch in October at Abbey Road Studios, we took up the offer,” said Midge Ure. “We were overwhelmed by the response of our fans, which confirmed within the band that perhaps the time was right to re-form.”

Back to blog