chris speeding new, all star album






 On February 16th Cleopatra Records will release the new album by one of the most sort after British session guitarists of all time.

Chris Spedding‘s guitar twang is one of the most fab sounds of Brit rock – has been so for many years – whose CV includes work with such luminaries as Jack Bruce, John Cale, NUCLEUS, Harry Nilsson and Elton John to name but a few, and that’s without mentioning his solo career and success with the ‘Motor Bikin’ ’45 and producing demos for SEX PISTOLS’ debut. And now, the past came to haunt the veteran on jolly terms with the release of his new album, Joyland, which features, alongside Chris and the powerful Andy Newmark on drums, an array of heavy guests.

While the most prominent participants on it would be Johnny Marr or ROXY MUSIC’s own Bryan Ferry and Andy Mackay, as well as ex-Pistol Glen Matlock and God Of Fire Arthur Brown, of special interest are the involvement of Spedding’s former colleagues from SHARK, Andy Fraser and Steve Parsons, or Snips. Something special indeed.

JOYLAND Track Listing:

1. Joyland – with Ian McShane, voiceover

2. Now You See It – with Arthur Brown, vocal

3. Cafe Racer – with Glen Matlock, bass

4. Gun Shaft City – with Bryan Ferry, vocal

5. Heisenberg – with Johnny Marr, guitars

6. I Still Love You – with Robert Gordon, vocal

7. Pied Piper – with Andy Mackay, oboe and sax

8. Go Down South – Steve Parsons, guitars and backing vocals

9. Shock Treatment – with Andy Fraser, bass

10. I’m Your Sin – with Lane, vocals

11. Message For Stella – with Steve Parsons, vocals

12. Boom Shakka Boom



Guitarist/Singer/Songwriter Chris Spedding has been a mainstay of the British session scene since the late 60s, playing with just about everyone from Nucleus, Jack Bruce, John Cale, Elton John, Mike Batt, to Paul McCartney & The Bay City Rollers (anonymously!).


In 1975 Spedding had a hit record called ‘Motorbikin’’. In the late 70s he moved to the States and worked with Robert Gordon, Jerry Harrison, Dick Rivers and Johnny Hallyday.

Since 2001, Spedding has been playing live with Roxy Music/Bryan Ferry, The War Of The World and R.Gordon / D.Rivers, Herbie Flowers, Charlotte Glasson among others.


In 2011, put out solo album "Pearls" and formed a legendary band called King Mob with Steve Parsons, Sixteen, Glen Matlock and Martin Chamnbers.


In 2014, Spedding formed his own band and 2015 sees the release of his his 13th original studio album "Joyland".



Chris Spedding will play the legendary 100 Club on 10th January.


Back to blog