Billy Idol's guitarist BILLY MORRISON lights the gas under his new solo project with a brand new single and video.

As well as playing rhythm guitar for the past fifteen years alongside the ex-Generation X legend, Morrison has also played bass with The Cult as well as serving in LA-based sideline supergroups Camp Freddy with Dave Navarro and Matt Sorum and circus diablo with Billy Duffy and Ricky Warwick.

Now the guitarist strikes out on his own with the single 'Drowning' from his new solo album The Morrison Project.

The single's video is “gritty, fast-paced and hectic—an attempt to illustrate what my head felt like at the time,” he explains. “I had reached a point two or three years ago where the information flow was so constant, so extreme and so polarizing to me that I couldn’t take it all in. Too much news, too many pundits and opinionated idiots. I felt like I was drowning in negativity. My previous solution was to numb out, get loaded, feel nothing, so this time I wrote the song as a cathartic way of dealing with what I was feeling at the time.”


His third solo album and first in nine years, The Morrison Project was produced by Billy himself and features a stellar cast of special guests, including Billy Idol, Steve Stevens, Ozzy Osbourne, DMC, Al Jourgensen, Corey Taylor, Steve Vai, Linda Perry, Tommy Clufetos, John5 and more.

Out this Friday, 'Drowning' is available to pre-save here.

The Morrison Project is released through TLG/Virgin Music Group on 19 April.

Billy Morrison on Facebook

Pic by Jane Stuart

Back to blog